2.5 Functions of the executive committee 'office holders | Owners Corporation Network

2.5 Functions of the executive committee 'office holders

Office holders are elected at the executive committee meeting following the annual general meeting. The NSW Strata Schemes Management Act (1996) specifies certain functions the chairperson, secretary and treasurer have.


Recommended Skills


  • presides at all meetings
  • conducts meetings
  • decides on issues relating to voting and procedure
  • does not have a deciding vote

A Good Chairperson:

  • Leadership or management experience
  • Good with people - both listening and directing
  • Self confident, diplomatic and inclusive, but not a pushover
  • Able to withstand conflict and disagreement
  • Can keep things on topic and moving forward


  • convenes the executive committee meetings and general meetings
  • prepares and distributes minutes of all meetings
  • attends to correspondence on behalf of the owners corporation
  • maintains administrative and secretarial records of the owners corporation
  • maintains the strata roll

A Good Secretary:

  • Organised and conscientious
  • IT literate, i.e. able to send emails, attachments, letters
  • Delivers things on-time


  • issues levy notices
  • receives and banks monies on behalf of the owners corporation
  • prepares Section 109 certificates
  • prepares financial statements and other financial records
  • maintains accounting records
  • determines what the levies will be
  • determines the scheme's future expenditure for the sinking fund

A Good Treasurer:

  • Organised and conscientious
  • Trustworthy
  • Someone who questions quotes and costs
  • Good with numbers and calculations
  • Accounting and computing skills (desirable)

In reality, many activities are delegated to a strata manager or can be done by other members of the executive committee with the skills, time or motivation and then passed onto the appropriate position for official implementation.

Relevant NSW Legislation: Strata Schemes Management Act (1996)

Section 18: Executive committee to appoint chairperson, secretary and treasurer

Sections 22 – 24: Members and office holders of the executive committee

Schedule 3, Part 1, Provisions relating to constitution of executive committee


What Members Say

"The whole strata community owes a huge debt of gratitude to you and the OCN executive. Much appreciated."

Robert, Darlinghurst

"I am very pleased with my membership of OCN, the discussions through sharing emails is very valuable in increasing my knowledge of strata living, the laws and EC responsibilities. I think I am better armed to tread the minefield of the managing agent responsibilities and the necessary action of the EC to monitor the contradictory interests of the agent."

Jim, Wollstonecraft

"I so appreciate being part of the OCN email forum. It provides a great opportunity for sharing ideas and learning"

Ingrid, Neutral Bay

"I must say that I have enjoyed and found consolation in the discussions that have been part of the email chain (forum). I did attend one general meeting and found that it was informative and the people "running the show" were knowledgeable and dedicated to the tasks that had taken on. In short, well done. You and the committee have and continue to support the Strata Community in a very professional manner."

Greg, Parramatta

"Nothing is easy in Strata World and we have been in building defects “mode” for some years – hopefully almost at an end but that process has been most demanding and difficult but again – greatly helped by the experience and wise counsel of other members of OCN."

Pat, St Leonards

"Keep up the good work, as many (if not most) strata schemes need your help, advice and representation at all levels of government."

Jann and John, St Ives

"I belong to OCN because of its professionalism.  I have found the meetings I have been to extremely well presented, to the point, and of course very topical and informative. Speakers on the whole certainly know their topic.  My role of Secretary last year was certainly assisted with the coverage regarding TPG & other subjects. Member newsletters are also of benefit as the topics are specific to strata matters."

Graham, East Balmain

I have enjoyed attending the quarterly OCN meetings and the exchange of emails between other Executive Committee Members and think OCN is playing an increasingly important role as a voice for strata dwellers and representing us at Government level. I wish the organisation continuing success in the future."

Pauline, Kings Cross

"The [forum] response to my question was amazing and really useful.  The OCN community is wonderful so thanks."

Jenny, Killara

"I would like to thank you all for the important effort that you are all putting in to look after apartment owners and tenants. It is so valuable and you are heroes. I would not have been able to deal with my duties as a strata chairman without your advice and assistance." 

Angela, Mascot

"The OCN is invaluable – many thanks."

Bill, Surry Hills

"OCN is proving invaluable"

Sue, Neutral Bay

"Thanks to all at OCN for your continuing efforts to keep us up to date with current strata information and advice...it has been very helpful to us"

Kate, Coogee

"When my wife & I first encountered a problematic Executive Committee I heard that OCN was a great help (from a Strata manager whom I knew) so we both joined and have gratefully used the on-line information sources. We continued to happily rely on OCN’s assistance when we progressed to Committee status & later as Chair & Secretary of our Committee. I still use OCN in my current role as Treasurer."

Peter, Chiswick

"Thanks to OCN for being such a rich resource of trustworthy information about strata matters."

Peter, Chiswick

"I wanted to extend my personal thanks for the very informative & interesting event today. The OCN team did an outstanding job in the organisation of this event & I enjoyed it thoroughly. The quality of speakers, the flow of conversation & interaction from the attendees - first class …& of course, the amazing Jimmy T - always a delight."

Sue, Epping

"OCN does a great job in providing a really valuable service to Strata owners."

Lois, Wollongong

"I am sure my appreciation of your good works is echoed by many in the Stratasphere. Keep up the good work."

John, Elizabeth Bay

"Once again, being able to discuss such things through this forum, helps clear the mind, puts things into perspective and helps one to understand their rights and to form a strategy if needs be. As a simple EC member trying to do what is in the best interests of lot owners, I truly value OCN and am grateful."

Pamela, Point Lookout

"The OCN is probably one of the best, most informed and most informative groups I have been involved with."

Alan, Maryville